An ancient place of worship in a stunning setting overlooking the Vale of Clwyd, the Snowdonia Range and the coastline towards the Great Orme, set within a churchyard full of wild flowers in the spring and summer, close to the Clwydian Way walking route and a network of more local footpaths.
We know that there has been a church in Dyserth since 1086 as reference is made to it in the Domesday Book. However, the exact date of any foundation is unknown and very little is known of the saints to whom the church is dedicated. The name Dyserth itself is said to mean 'the place of the hermit's cell'. The original structure of the church would have been made from wood and has long since disappeared.
The earliest parts of the church structure are medieval, dating from the 13th century, and are most clearly seen in the great buttresses that frame the West door which looks out towards the stream. Throughout the centuries there have been occasions when the church has been repaired and renovated.
The most thoroughgoing of these renovations was in the 1870s when the church was virtually rebuilt by Sir George Gilbert Scott, the Victorian architect who restored the choir of Westminster Abbey and who renovated the cathedral of St Asaph at about the same time. Scott replaced the South porch and added the north transept and vestry. The gallery was taken down and other alterations made. The general structural condition of the fabric is in good order.