A grant to help fund a project that included re-roofing and making masonry repairs to the tower, provide a lightning conductor, repairing masonry and glazing on several windows and improving the exterior drainage. St MaryÕs dates from 1179 and the nave, chancel and tower are all 12th century. Several alterations and additions from later years, such as the porch, can be seen. Originally, there was a spire but this was destroyed by fire in 1825 and replaced by a tower with a crenelated parapet. Substantial restoration was carried out by Thomas Gordon in 1881-4. Inside there is an ornate wooden rood screen and a unique organ (only 12 of its type were made). There is a remarkable wooden ceiling, parts apparently dating from 14th century. There are several stained glass windows. The parish is very rural and the widely-spread population is small (about 300), but as the church is the historic parish centre and many parishioners have strong links with it, restoration is very important.
Kinlet church no longer has a village around it, but stands in a rather remote location in the grounds of Kinlet Hall.