St Eugene's is a Listed Grade B+ Roman Catholic church listed as 'an important and early Catholic church which has an impressive external design and an intimate interior' was constructed uniquely in stages from a simple rectangular structure in 1785, major remodelling in 1823, the additions of a wooden steeple and belfry in 1834, and in 1860s an extension to the south with ancillary and sacristy rooms which were further extended in 1949. Porches to the west and north were added in the 1990s. The wooden steeple was replaced in1904 by notable Derry architect EJ Toye, copper clads in 1909 and reclad in 1977 and 2001 following storm damage.
Church history indicates that at early construction of the building, Protestant farmers provided and transported building materials without charge and Catholic workers cleared the site and built this unique historic church. The 1834 belfry had a bell which was the first bell to ring out in the Derry Diocese since penal times ahead of the bell at Armagh Cathedral.
The church is T shaped plan internally, of double height with three connected galleries with original stair accesses and stall type seating. Marble altar rails and sanctuary furnishings date from works in 1949. Externally the building is dominated by the tower and spire at the east end, this being smooth plastered and painted masonry with copper clad spire sitting atop the timber fretted belfry; roofs are natural slate with clay ridges, and the external walls are applied painted smooth masonry as on the tower walls.
Windows have recently been restored and vary in height, shape, heads, material and detail and material of external surround, this reflecting the various ages and stages of development and patterns, some arising from 'modern' replacements. The majority are of timber (sash type) of varying shapes and sizes, with gallery windows including two zinc and five circulars.
The church awaits further restoration works in the near future to bring our wonderful heritage back to life.