This pretty timber framed church stands to the west of the village of Great Altcar, it has been described by Pevsner as 'an utterly charming church'.
It was on Sunday, September 22nd, 1881 that the first service was held, in the assembly rooms of the Grapes Hotel, just a few yards down from the present church building. Building commenced on a plot of land and a church was erected that, with the donations from supporters, allowed the building to be opened free from debt.
In 1888 it was felt that, to accommodate an increasing congregation, a larger church building was needed. A corrugated iron church in London was known to be the subject of demolition and it was decided to purchase and re-erect it on the land in front of the existing building. It became known as the 'Tin Church'.
This building served the congregation well until 1934 when it was decided to consider the erection of a more permanent, new church. After much thought it was concluded that the existing land, rather than elsewhere, be used to build on. The 'Tin Church' was sold and removed, after serving the community for some 49 years.
The new Congregational church ‘Opening and Dedication’ was held on Saturday, July 2nd 1938 and the first services on Sunday, 3rd July. The curch hall at the rear of the church was built and then opened on 27th September 1971 after the demolition of the old school rooms.
In the following year, 1972, the union between the Congregational church and the Presbyterian church was finalised and the United Reformed Church came into being.