Treasured church with a 14th century tower, loved for its stained glass windows, rood screens, windpipe organ and unique wall tiling.
Weston Longville has a population of about 340 and has a village hall and a pub named after the church’s most famous incumbent Parson Woodforde (1774-1803). Parson Woodforde’s diaries, diligently kept for 45 years, give a fascinating insight into rural life at the end of the 18th century. The Parson Woodforde Society still maintains strong links with the village and church.
All Saints was mainly built in the 14th century and the tower contains six bells each individually inscribed, the earliest being c.1410. Above the entrance to the church is the emblem of the company of French Merchant Adventurers which was incorporated by Edward IV (1461-1483) and as you enter the actual church you will see the Font which is supported by five 13th century Purbeck marble pillars. The font also contains the oldest feature in the church which is a Saxon Stone Calvary encased in the step on the west side of the font.
At the entrance to the chancel is the beautifully preserved Apostles Creed rood Screen which dates back to the 15th century. It is unusual because the Apostles are in groups of three and their faces have survived the Reformation.
The organ was built in 1906 and next to the organ are two beautifully restored medieval wall paintings of St John the Baptist and St John the Divine which were discovered in 1967 and which date between 1300 and 1340, but possibly the finest painting in the church is the 14th century Tree of Jesse in the north aisle which was first discovered in 1916.
The sanctuary is also full of interest with the piscina and a three seat 14th century sedilia which is one of the finest in Norfolk. The sedilia cushions have the emblems of Canterbury, Norwich and All Saints while the arms of New College, Oxford, patrons of the benefice, are embroidered on the Bishops Chair.