CornwallTRUROStGeorgeMartyr(timgreenCC-BY-2.0)1 TimGreen

St George the Martyr

Welcome to the St George’s, Truro, a delightful Cathedral City located in the County of Cornwall in the South West of England.

Truro, Cornwall

Opening times

Sorry, there are no regular opening times for this church.


St Georges Road

Cornwall is known as the ‘Land of the Saints’ and is steeped in Celtic Christian tradition. Christianity has flourished since early times and evidence of the ancient tradition can be found in the many parish churches which make up the Diocese of Truro which was founded in 1877.

The church was consecrated by Bishop Phillpotts on the Feast of St Simon and St Jude in 1855.

As is noted in ‘Harrods Royal County Directory of Cornwall’ in 1878 ‘it consists of a nave, with south porch and transepts, a chancel with fine stained glass windows, and tower of 3 stages, with crooked pinnacles … the roof is decorated with gold stars on a blue ground. Rising from the chancel by 3 steps, and separated from it by a magnificent arch is the apsidal sanctuary’.

  • Wildlife haven

  • Spectacular stained glass

  • Glorious furnishings

  • Fascinating churchyard

  • Enchanting atmosphere

  • Captivating architecture

  • Walkers & cyclists welcome

  • Space to secure your bike

  • Parking within 250m

  • On street parking at church

  • Level access to the main areas

  • Dog friendly

  • Accessible toilets nearby

  • Church of England

Contact information

Other nearby churches

Truro Cathedral

Truro, Cornwall

Truro Cathedral is Cornwall's cathedral - a beautiful building built in the Gothic style it stands at the heart of the picturesque city of Truro.

St John the Evangelist

Truro, Cornwall

St John is situated at the top of Lemon Street in Truro, built in 1828 as a simple rectangular block with a whitewashed interior and balconies on the north and south sides.

Friends Meeting House

Come to Good, Cornwall

The tiny village is home to an historic Quaker meeting house, a cob and straw thatch building dating from 1710 and containing glass dating from 1640.