Killinchy Parish Church boasts the Livingston Centre, a local is a local heritage centre which celebrates the transatlantic story of the Livingston family.
Killinchy Presbyterian Church was originally built in 1714 although the congregation was established 84 years earlier in 1630 .
The church building sits in a hollow beside the river Blackwater to the rear with the Anderson Memorial Hall immediately adjoining and surrounded by an ancient graveyard . The Anderson Hall with its high wooden beams and arch windows is quite magnificent in its own right and well worth an inspection. Across a quiet country road sits a more modern church hall which houses the church office. Another graveyard, known as The Moore graveyard, lies behind this building. Strangford lough is just over one mile away further along this road. The unique setting has attracted film crews and several TV companies whose dramas will be recognised from the area. Don't be surprised to come across a famous actor or two!
Back to the church itself. In the late 1890s Revd William Smyth carried out extensive renovations to the church, installing heating and new pews, adding the label moulding to the openings and building the boundary wall. If you are visiting try out one of the pews for comfort. You will no doubt have sympathy for all congregations since the 1890s!
The last major alteration to the building occurred around 1940-50 when the external steps to the galleries were removed. Each wing of the cruciform has two evenly spaced windows each to the long walls and centrally positioned doorway below a central window within an otherwise plain gable. For those readers particularly interested in architectural detail the pointed arch windows to the long walls each have simple Y tracery, each ' lancet' having margins. The windows are surmounted by moulded drip stones with label stops.
The building was finished in cement mortor and had cast iron rainwater goods which were recently replaced with coated aluminium to retain the character of the original building. The roof has Bangor blue slates and decorative finials on each gable. With the support of the National Churches Trust work has started on the external features to maintain and preserve them in keeping with the character of the building and the nature of the original building materials.
A special mention should be given to our internal three faced clock which was bought in 1811 for the grand sum of £20. It still keeps very good time 212 years later and is clearly visible from the pulpit! Visitors may be interested to know that wooden Killinchy clocks, made by hand, are still being made in Killinchy, behind the post office and a few hundred yards from the church.