StrathclydeSYMINGTONCragieSymingtonChurch(billymccrorieCC-BY-SA20)1 BillyMcCrorie

Craigie Symington Church

Set in a conservation village the church, built in 1160, remains one of the finest examples of a Norman church still in use in Scotland.

Symington, Strathclyde

Opening times

Open by arrangement, please see our website.



Symon Loccard, a local landowner who owned land in both Ayrshire and Lanarkshire, founded the original church in Symington in 1160AD. It is understood that the village and parish derived its name (originally Symonstown) from him.

The church building has undergone a range of alterations over the centuries and various practical changes have also taken place in recent times to accommodate the modern day challenges.

Believed to stand on the mound of an earlier church, the structure from the 12th century has become the nave of the present church that was altered and extended extensively in the 18th century.

These alterations were followed in 1919 by a restoration that revealed the walls and ancient oak roof beams that had been plastered over. The church has been returned to its Norman glory and further enhanced by stained glass windows, many by Douglas Strachan.

There are two crosses carved into the chancel floor. One marks the grave of Reverend Gage Boyd, who oversaw the 1919 restoration. The other is over remains found under the chancel during the restoration, and believed to be those of Symons Loccard.

  • Spectacular stained glass

  • Glorious furnishings

  • Captivating architecture

  • Walkers & cyclists welcome

  • Space to secure your bike

  • Parking within 250m

  • On street parking at church

  • Level access to the main areas

  • Dog friendly

  • Accessible toilets nearby

  • Church of Scotland

Contact information

Other nearby churches

Our Lady & St Meddan

Troon, Strathclyde

In creating this commanding church, architect Reginald Fairlie was said to be inspired by the Church of the Holy Rude in Stirling.