St Martin calls itself 'an old church in a modern guise', others have called it a phoenix risen from the ashes.
The present All Saints Pavement was completely rebuilt in the 14th century to a rectangular plan on the site of a 10th century Norse Christian church. The exterior's most striking feature, the octagonal lantern tower used as a beacon for travellers, was added in around 1400.
There is a tradition that All Saints was built in AD 685 for St Cuthbert and is listed in the Domesday Book as being held by the Bishop of Durham in the name of the King. The chancel was demolished in 1782 and the east end was rebuilt to allow space for the expanding York market. The north wall and the west end were rebuilt in 1834. The lantern tower, one of the finest in the UK, was rebuilt in 1837. The vestry was added between 1850 and 1855.
The church was restored in 1887 by George Edmund Street when the stonework was cleaned, the pinnacles restored, and the central east window fitted with stained glass by Charles Eamer Kempe. At the west end is the unique 14th century window containing scenes from the Passion and Resurrection of Christ. In the north aisle are the Regimental window of The Royal Dragoon Guards painted and installed by Anne Sotheran of York and the Afghanistan memorial window designed and painted by Helen Whitaker of Barley Studios, York and installed in 2015.
Amongst other items are the fine hexagonal oak pulpit (c1634 and used by John Wesley) with its decorative sounding board and a pre-conquest Anglo Danish child’s grave cover dating from the early 10th century. All Saints Pavement is the Guild Church of York and the Regimental Church of The Royal Dragoon Guards. It is the preferred church of the ex Service Associations in the York area.