There has been Christian worship on this site for over a thousand years, possibly since Saxon times. The present building, in late Gothic perpendicular style, dates from 1460 and is light and spacious. The church was restored and modernised by Benjamin Ferrey, a pupil of Augustus Pugin, enabling it to accommodate up to 730 people and making the tower taller and grander. Its steeple can be seen from far away and is unusual in Somerset where the tradition is for elaborate towers. It is an iconic feature of the town landscape.
The roof was constructed in the 1850’s and the slates now need to be refitted with new nails and battens. Many slates will need to be totally replaced. The upper rainwater goods need refurbishment and enlarging, and the lead gutters of the nave and chancel need to be reset. Once the roof is repaired, separate work on the tower and pinnacles will be carried out and the church will be in a position to do internal alterations and re-decoration.