You are welcome to visit, view our stunning stained glass windows and the font where author CS Lewis was baptised.
Previously based on the site of the Holywood Old Priory, the Church of Ireland moved to its current location in the early 19th century. A relatively small church was consecrated in 1844 with a significant extension in the 1860s almost trebling the size of the building. Both these building projects were undertaken with the direction of architect Charles, later Sir Charles Lanyon. Some memorials predating the building and brought to it from the former site have been incorporated into the current building.
The church is gothic in style but has a distinctive red brick with black brick relief interior. The stained glass dates from different periods including the most recent window installed in 2017. A comprehensive illustrated history booklet, including a guided tour of the church, is available to borrow or buy. Visitors should allow at least an hour to make their way around the building, pausing to take in the many memorials including those to former clergy of the parish and military personnel. Of special note is the memorial to a VC winner, John S Dunville in the chancel behind the choir stalls.
The church is a place of prayer and living worship; it is open much of the week as well as for five services each Sunday.