Llanllugan Abbey was founded by Maredudd ap Rhobert, lord of Cydewain, it was the only religious house for women in North Wales and the former abbey church now serves as the parish church.
St Cynon's sits on the hill overlooking the village of Tregynon, with beautiful views of the Bechan valley (a tributary of the river Severn).
There is reason to believe there has been a place of worship on the site for 1500 years, but nothing now survives of the first church erected here, other than its dedication and the raised and circular churchyard.
After the Reformation in the 16th century, the right of appointing the clergy to serve the church passed to the local lords of the manor at Gregynog, the Blayney family. The last of the Blayney squires, Arthur who died in 1795, was an improving landlord, who not only rebuilt cottages on his estate, but remodelled the parish church as well. The church as it stands now is very little changed from the time of William Scott Owen’s restoration in 1893-4, with its stunning pink marble reredos, stencilled wall and exposed 15th century roof beams.
The east window was assembled by the notable firm of Clayton & Bell, the glass being brought here from the famous collection at Toddington between 1891 and 1893. Among the saints depicted are the twelve apostles with their emblems, Cecilia, Ambrose, Jerome and rather more unusually Lambert of Utrecht. The tower, thrust through the 15th century roof, houses one bell of 18th century date. The belfry is supported by roughly hewn, massive cross braced oaken uprights of impressive solidity. The sundial on the exterior south face should be noted.