PembrokeshireCALDEYISLANDOldPrioryStIlltyd(garethloveringphotograpyCC-BY-ND2.0)1 GarethLoveringPhotography

Old Priory & St Illtyd

Caldey Island has had a Christian community since the 6th century, making it one of the earliest Christian sites in Britain.

Caldey Island, Pembrokeshire

Opening times

Visitors are welcome to explore the church and external areas of the Priory.
Caldey Island can be accessed by a regular boat service from Tenby. There is a ticket kiosk at the harbour, and boats run every 20 minutes from Easter to October.


Caldey Island
SA70 7UH

Today it is a Cistercian Abbey, farmed by the monks for produce and for flowers to make perfume. The abbey buildings and grounds are not open to the public, but parts of the island are open, as is St Illtud's church.

St Illtud's is part of the buildings called the Old Priory, not occupied since the Dissolution in the 16th century. After this time the buildings were left to decay, and the island was given over to farming. In the 19th century the island was bought and some of the buildings repaired, and in 1906 monks returned after a break of over 300 years.

As it stands today St Illtud's dates from the 13th century, but the famous Caldey Stone, found in the grounds and now in the church, has a 6th century Ogham inscription on it and also a later, 9th century, Latin script. The church is simple and serene on the inside, with pebble floors and stone walls, and very picturesque on the outside, with lichen covered walls and a tall, spindly spire.

  • Spectacular stained glass

  • National heritage here

  • Magnificent memorials

  • Glorious furnishings

  • Enchanting atmosphere

  • Captivating architecture

  • Walkers & cyclists welcome

  • Space to secure your bike

  • Parking within 250m

  • On street parking at church

  • Level access to the main areas

  • Dog friendly

  • Accessible toilets nearby

  • Catholic Church

Contact information

Other nearby churches

St David

Caldey Island, Pembrokeshire

This is the parish church of little Caldey Island, where both islanders and monks are buried, their graves marked by wooden crosses.

St Julian

Tenby, Pembrokeshire

This church was built in 1874-1878 to replace the Fisherman’s Chapel which stood at the seaward end of Tenby’s stone pier.

St Mary

Tenby, Pembrokeshire

Rows of pretty town houses in pinks, blues, greens and creams line the harbourside at Tenby and above them all rises the spire of the parish church.