A local landmark, the church is set on the end of a limestone ridge at the gateway to the Lake District National Park with beautiful views across the Kent Estuary to Morecambe Bay.
As with many old churches there is a rich mixture of architectural and historic features at St Peter’s; they reflect periods of extension of the church and of rebuilding.
The oldest remnant of the church’s early history is the shaft of an Anglian Cross that was most likely carved by the early 9th century, and possibly in the 7th century. The oldest part of the present building is likely to be from 1180 and the list of rectors and vicars of Heversham since 1180 is on the wall beside the main door.
The church contains a wide range of ancient and fascinating features, a number of which survived the Great Fire of 1601. The Anglian cross shaft is in the church porch beside the main door that has ironwork that appears to be 15th century in origin. The parish chest in the north aisle dates from 1400 and the screen to the Levens Chapel is beautifully carved and dated 1605 whilst the vestry door is probably 16th century.
Much rebuilding took place between 1868 and 1871. The tower was built at this time, replacing and earlier one. The pews and many internal features are mid to late19th century Stained glass windows are to be found throughout the church.
The east window dates from the 15th century whilst the Dallam Chapel window contains fragments of painted glass dated 1601 The churchyard is extensive, well maintained and contains some magnificent trees. It has extensive views and provides a lovely setting for the church. Within the graveyard there are a number of Grade 2 listed tombs and monuments, one of which dates from 1690. John Taylor, the third president of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Mormons, was born in Milnthorpe in 1808 and was baptised in St Peter’s.