NorfolkHOUGHTONONTHEHILLStMary(beatriceprossersnellingSTAFF)12 BeatriceProsserSnelling

St Mary


Houghton on the Hill, Norfolk

Opening times

Normally 2pm to 4pm daily in summer, and at weekends in winter.
Arrangements can be made for groups to visit outside these hours, please get in touch.


St Mary
Brown Lane
Houghton on the Hill
PE37 8DP

The tiny church of St Mary, Houghton on the Hill in a remote corner of rural Norfolk dates from around 1090 and was abandoned in the 1930s.

In 1982 it was 'uncovered' from its fetters of ivy and brambles by one man who turned the church and its garden into what has been frequently described as a haven of peace and beauty. Step inside and be captivated by the paintings on all four walls of the nave, paintings which codate the church and are some of the earliest and best in the country.

In the course of reroofing it, some plaster was dislodged revealing traces of wall paintings. Further paintings were uncovered and now the east wall of the nave has a substantial amount on display. These paintings have been dated at about 1090, making them some of the oldest in Europe and also one of the most complete sets. 

Step inside and be captivated. Enjoy the garden and bring a picnic.

  • Captivating architecture

  • Enchanting atmosphere

  • Fascinating churchyard

  • National heritage here

  • Social heritage stories

  • Wildlife haven

  • Car park at church

  • Dog friendly

  • Level access throughout

  • Space to secure your bike

  • Walkers & cyclists welcome

  • Church of England

Contact information

Other nearby churches