Gorgeous church with an Anglo-Saxon name beside an ancient Holy Well and huge Celtic Cross attest to over a millennia of worship.
Roughtor (1312ft, 400m) and Brown Willy (1,378ft, 420m), the two highest peaks, form the edges of the parish. Moorland granite has been used for centuries to build local houses and churches and stone from St Breward quarries was used for important and famous landmarks Tower Bridge and London Bridge.
The church, built in the Norman period and rebuilt in the 15th century, may be on the site of a Saxon church, which was built in turn on the site of a Celtic oratory.
Some fine 15th century bench ends are displayed attached to the outside of the front pews and at the back of the choir stalls including the 'Judas' bench end in the chancel, incorporated in the priest's stall in the choir: it depicts Judas with a money bag round his neck and the thirty pieces of silver.
The Royal Arms of William III may be seen over the south door. The practise of setting up the Royal Arms in churches grew up under Henry VIII, at the time of the Reformation, and became compulsory in 1660 at the Restoration of Charles II (1660-1685). St Breward seems to have delayed some forty years in complying with this order, as the Arms are dated 1700, during the reign of William III (1689-1702). William III's arms are unique in that superimposed on the Stuart shield was added in the centre the arms of Nassau in the shape of a shield `Azure billety and a lion rampant Or'. This shield still exists today as the arms of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.
The exterior of the porch has two stone heads on either side of the archway, above which is a sundial dated 1792 saying: 'Seize the Moments as they fly. Know to live and learn to die'.