St Anna’s dates from the 12th century and occupies a unique setting at the head of the Frome valley, in close proximity to the Wall Hills Iron Age Fort.
The earliest parts are 12th century Norman as is the font. Much of the church was rebuilt in 14th century in the decorated style with trussed rafter roof and the Lady chapel added. The nave has one remaining Norman window. The chancel windows have delicate tracery work and the stained glass was renovated in Victorian times. The altar rails date from around 1750 and the Chancel arch was widened in 1833. The Pytt's memorials record several generations. The South African flag commemorates the use of the house as a Red Cross hospital during WW2. In the Lady Chapel there is the outline painting of an unknown female saint and an oak chest dating from around 1300.