St John the Evangelist
The church is of coursed granite with gothic detailing and Cornish slate roof. Built 1840-42, the church was integral to George Wightwick`s picturesque model enclave of Treslothan on the edge of former Pendarves family Mansion park estate. It has served pastorally and spiritually the large mining village of Troon for 170 years. It is the last church design of George Wightwick, although now reordered, it marks the cusp of the development of Tractarian and Camden Society influence.
The grant will help fund a roof repair project along with maintenance repairs to slipped and damaged slating on the main roof. Weathering and flashing details will also be improved / repaired. Works will also involve overhauling, repair and replacement to the rainwater goods to all areas of the building. The works are intended to ensure this attractive historic place of worship can continue operating as a public building for many years to come.