The remains of the Abbey of St Mary lie in the centre of St Dogmaels immediately south of the parish church, which itself lies to the south of the High Street.
St Mary’s was the priory church of the medieval Benedictine Cardigan Priory and in its east window survive some fine fragments of 15th century glass. A must see for any visitor to Cardigan and its iconic castle.
It is situated on the bank of the River Teifi, just off Finch Square. The present nave dates from the 14th century and parts of the church were rebuilt during 1711. During the 13th century the church found fame by being a site of pilgrimage as the shrine of ‘Our Lady of the Taper’. A shrine still exists at St Mary’s, although it is not the original 800 year old one.