SurreyHURSTGREENStJohnEvangelist(kellyvandenbergPERMISSIONBYEMAIL)1 KellyVanDenBerg

St John the Evangelist

St John's has served the people of Hurst Green for 100 years and we offer you a warm welcome.

Hurst Green, Surrey

Opening times

Please contact us to arrange a visit.


Church Way
Hurst Green

St John the Evangelist was consecrated in 1913, the daughter church of the old parish of Oxted. It was built to meet the needs of the growing population of what was originally the tiny hamlet of Hurst Green.

The church comprised a tower, chancel, nave and Lady Chapel. It was faced with sandstone from a quarry near Tunbridge Wells, and with knapped flint from the chalk pits of the North Downs.  Internally, winkle marble from Bletchingley decorated the floor of the sanctuary. The large east window shows the risen Christ in glory, flanked on one side, by the Virgin Mary, and on the other, by St John the Evangelist.

The west end of the church was incomplete because it was always expected that it would be extended. This was finally accomplished, and dedicated in 1962. It provided a longer nave, baptistry, porch, kitchen, toilets and meeting room known as St John's Room. The porch is floored with York stone that had originally been London paving stones, and, at the far end, winkle marble matching that of the sanctuary. There is a fine, circular rose window in the west wall in stained glass, with panels depicting themes connected with the patron saint, St John the Evangelist. Over 150 tapestry kneelers in different designs were made by a team of ladies from the parish.

Of particular interest in the church are two painted mural panels by the artist, John Hayward. One is in the Lady Chapel entitled 'The Annunciation', the other, 'The Virgin and Child' is in the baptistry. Also, on the south wall is a fine carving of an eagle, the traditional symbol of St John the Evangelist.

On Good Friday 1988, the entire roof and interior of the church were destroyed by fire resulting from arson. A two year rebuilding programme ensued which also included some reordering of the interior. The rood screen was removed and now forms the wall of the choir vestry in the north transept. The large wooden cross from the top of the screen was placed on the wall beneath the east window. The high altar was moved to the centre of the sanctuary, and the choir stalls were repositioned along the east wall. The aisles and entire chancel were carpeted, the old pipe organ was replaced by a 3 manual electronic instrument, and two new meeting rooms were created in the tower. The restored church was rededicated on Easter Day 1990.

  • Social heritage stories

  • Fascinating churchyard

  • Captivating architecture

  • Walkers & cyclists welcome

  • Space to secure your bike

  • Parking within 250m

  • Level access to the main areas

  • Car park at church

  • Accessible toilets in church

  • Wednesday 12noon to 1pm for Eucharist in the Lady Chapel.

  • Sunday 8am Holy Eucharist and 9.30am Parish Eucharist with crèche and children’s groups.

  • First Sunday of the Month 9.30am all aged service.

  • Third Sunday or the Month 11am café church.

  • Church of England

Contact information

SurreyHURSTGREENStJohnEvangelist(kellyvandenbergPERMISSIONBYEMAIL)1 KellyVanDenBerg

Make a donation

Donate to this church

Other nearby churches

St Mary

Oxted, Surrey

The ancient church was built nearly one thousand years ago and, together with its historic graveyards, provides a unique home for the key moments and memories of our town.

Church of the Peace of God

Oxted, Surrey

In 1811 the newly erected church could somehow seat 256 people plus 94 other and had a capacity congregation each Sunday.

St Peter

Tandridge, Surrey

St Peter's is popular with walkers who find it featured in most walking guides to the area particularly as it has the second largest yew tree in UK.