The medieval church was demolished and this church built in 1869. It was designed, without the help of an architect, by the Rector Octavius James. He had been on holiday in the Black Forest, and built a similar church here. The fleche spire, or the ‘absurdly thin needle spire’ (Pevsner), is unique and quite special.
The church has a fine hammer beam roof and large fireplace. There are a number of interesting 18th century gravestones, and monuments to the former Lords of the Manor.
The list of Rectors goes back to the 13th century, and a Saxon Cross standing in the churchyard suggests a much earlier Christian presence.