This ancient village was on the pilgrimage route to Bury St Edmunds and is full of history and legend.
Open the 14th century south door and imagine this door handle turning every day since 1340.
Inside is the Purbeck marble font, recut from one predating the 1340 church. Are this and several romanesque carved stones in the arcade bases from the earlier church listed in the Doomsday Book?
View the finely carved rood screen (1460-80), ogee arched, double sided and painted.
The Lavers & Barraud east window is amongst the finest high Victorian stained glass in East Anglia. In the traceries of other windows are rescued pieces of medieval painted glass.
Chancel memorials commemorate the 17th and 18th century Grigby family of Drinkstone Park and others who were killed by gunshot or drowned at sea.
The fine carving of iconic animals and figures on the wooden pews are the work of Thomas Wormald of Bury St Edmunds. The associations of the church go back to the famous Norman Louvaine, Bohun and Burchier 14th and 15th century families.
Welcome to this beautiful light and airy church.