Helping churches and chapels in Scotland


St John’s Episcopal Church, Alloa, Clackmannanshire

The National Churches Trust has been supporting churches, chapels and meeting houses in Scotland for many years.

Scotland possesses a surprising and delightful diversity in its range of buildings designed for worship, the product of its rich and complex church history.

Since 2010, we have protected and preserved over 30 places of worship in Scotland belonging to a variety of denominations, with over £300,000 of funding for urgent repairs and essential modernisations.

Have a look at all of the churches we have helped in Scotland since 2010 on our interactive map.

Scotland's Churches Trust

As well as awarding National Churches Trust Cornerstone, Repair and Community Grants, we also work with Scotland's Churches Trust to provide Partnership Grants to churches, chapels and meeting houses in Scotland.

Scotland's Churches Trust aims to advance the preservation, promotion and understanding of Scotland's rich architectural heritage represented in its churches and places of worship of all denominations. It was formed in 2012, with the merging of the former Scotland's Churches Scheme, established in 1994, with the Scottish Architectural Heritage Trust, formed in 1978 to assist congregations in the preservation and upkeep of their buildings.

Today, Scotland's Churches Trust has more than 1300 churches in membership operating an 'open doors' policy. These churches are spread across Scotland and across all the religious denominations. They contain a significant part of the nation's heritage with the major proportion being 'listed' buildings, many being Category A.



  • Dunlop Church of Scotland, Dunlop, Ayrshire, KA3 4AG

  • Coldingham Priory Church, Coldingham, TD14 5NG

  • Port of Menteith Church, Port of Menteith, Stirling, FK8 3RA

  • Boleskine Church, Boleskine, Inverness, IV2 6UJ

  • Shettleston New Church, Glasgow, G32 7JG

  • Yetholm Church, Kirk Yetholm, Scottish Borders, TD5 8PF

  • St Joseph’s RC Church, Blantyre, South Lanarkshire, G72 9DA

  • St James the Less Church, Penicuik, Midlothian, EH26 9EE

  • St Mary the Virgin Episcopal Church, Hamilton, South Lanarkshire, ML3 6JT

  • St John’s Episcopal Church, Alloa, Clackmannanshire, FK10 1AN