St Agnes and St Pancras
Awarded a £20,000 grant to help fund a project to carry out urgent roof repairs, replace rainwater goods and repair high level stonework. The replacement of the defective roof and rainwater goods will make the building watertight, preserving both the historic fabric and the priceless contents of the church from further deterioration. Once the repairs are complete the church will be a local haven for reflection, contemplation and prayer.
St Agnes and St Pancras was described by the architecture expert Nikolaus Pevsner as “the noblest Victorian Church in Liverpool”. John Loughborough Pearson designed the church along similar lines to Truro Cathedral; it was completed in 1885.
Situated in the Sefton Park Conservation Area, the exterior is of red brick with sandstone dressings and a roof of red terracotta tiles. Founder Douglas Horsfall wanted a church which would “most readily bring a man to his knees”, and the interior has a breathtaking impact upon visitors. It is of Caen stone and the stonework is of the highest order, particularly the carved frieze in the apse and the humorous grotesques added by Horsfall in 1910.
The church itself is used almost daily for worship, as well as regular concerts and musical events. The church is an active and enthusiastic participant in the annual Heritage Open Days. The Ethiopian Orthodox parish of St Tekklehayamanot uses the church for its weekly liturgy and monthly Masses.