Best church architecture awards

Published: Thursday, June 12, 2014


Nominations for the best new church buildings and for innovative church conservation architecture are being sought for two prestigious awards.

The Presidents' Award

New church buildings and new designs in church re-ordering, alterations or extensions can be entered for The Presidents' Award. The award is open to church buildings of all Christian denominations in the UK.

The Presidents' Award  is awarded on behalf of the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association President and the  National Churches Trust's Joint Presidents, the Archbishops of Canterbury and York.

Projects are eligible if they have been completed within the last three years or after the Practical Completion stage in their development.

The 2013 Presidents' Award was awarded to the Michael Dales Partnership for the new Parish Room at St Mary's Church, Hertingfordbury, Hertfordshire.

 The King of Prussia Gold Medal

Innovative, high quality church conservation or repair work that has successfully overcome a major aesthetic or technical challenge is eligible to be entered for The King of Prussia's Gold Medal. The Gold Medal was the gift of King Freidrich Wilhelm IV of Prussia in 1857 who was highly impressed with British  Victorian church architecture.

The award is open to the Architect or Chartered Surveyor on any scheme of repair for a church or chapel of any Christian denomination in the UK, in use for regular worship, and over one hundred years old.  The scheme must have been funded by a grant or loan from the National Churches Trust, or would have been eligible for such a grant or loan, and have been completed within the last three years.

The 2013 King of Prussia Gold Medal was awarded to Thomas Ford Partners for the conservation repairs to the Church of All Saints, Westbere, Kent.

The deadline for entries for both awards is Friday 3rd October 2014.  The winners will be announced at Westminster Cathedral Hall at the EASA AGM on Thursday 6th November 2014. Entry forms can be downloaded from the bottom of this page.

Claire Walker, Chief Executive, National Churches Trust said:  “The National Churches Trust is delighted to be a joint sponsor of these awards, which recognise the expertise and talent of church architects.  The Presidents' Award is a chance to honour new church architecture and we are looking forward to receiving examples of high quality and innovative contemporary design.  In contrast, the King of Prussia Gold Medal honours the investment churches are making in conservation and repair work and so recognises the importance of safeguarding the past. Both awards recognise the vital role played by architects in keeping church buildings alive and thereby enabling present and future communities to use and enjoy the buildings.”


Mark Pearce, President of the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association said: “These awards are an excellent opportunity to showcase the highest quality work being undertaken on our church buildings; new and historic. They provide exemplars for parishes, architects and surveyors alike to learn from and aspire to. As such they are core to the very purpose of the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association as a learned society to disseminate knowledge and promote good design. The National Churches Trust's ongoing support is greatly appreciated by the Association and is a testimony to the shared values we both hold in supporting our church communities.”


King of Prussia Gold Medal Entry Form

 Presidents' Award Entry Form