National Church Awards 2022

National Church Awards 2022

We're really excited about our awards this year and hope that you will be inspired to enter your church, project, architect or volunteer to win one of the prizes.

This is the first year that we have brought all our awards together into one event, it's also the first year we have opened them up for any church, chapel or meeting house across the UK to be nominated.

We will be celebrating the winners at a glorious high tea, held at the Mercers' Company Livery Hall in October 2022.

You can find the awards schemes for this year below.

Please ensure you read the specific requirements and guidelines for the award you are interested in; be especially aware of closing dates, as these differ for each award.

It's really important to us and our partners that we make it easy for you to submit a nomination for one of our awards. We are a small team, so we are using an online platform called Zealous to make this process open to as many churches, architects and volunteers as possible. If you have problems making an online entry, you can see help articles on their website here.

Church Architecture Awards

The Church Architecture Awards are run in partnership with the Ecclesiastical Architects & Surveyors Association (EASA).

Click on the awards below to submit a nomination. You can download guidelines and questions for each scheme using the button to the right. You will also be able to amend your submission right up to the closing date.

Closing date : 24 June 2022

The King of Prussia Gold Medal

For innovative, high quality church conservation or repair work. The architects responsible for the winning project will receive the prestigious King of Prussia Gold Medal. The winning church or chapel receives a £500 prize.

Presidents' Award

The Presidents' Award celebrates the best new church building, including re-ordering, extensions or alterations to existing church buildings. The award is given to the designer and the unique Chalice and Paten are loaned to the winning church. The church or chapel also receives a £500 prize.

Young Architect or Surveyor of the Year

Available to an architect or surveyor responsible for a scheme for either the King of Prussia Gold Medal or the Presidents' Award. Make your nomination at the same time and on the form for either of these awards. The winner receives a specially commissioned stained glass roundel, and a cash prize.



Luke March (Chair of the National Churches Trust) : Alexa Stephens (Young Architect of the Year in 2019) : HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG GCVO FRIBA