The Presidents' Award


The Presidents’ Award for Church Architecture is for the best new church architecture and for reordering, extensions or alterations to existing church buildings.

It is awarded on behalf of the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association President and the National Churches Trust’s Joint Presidents, the Archbishops of Canterbury and York.

Projects are eligible if they have been completed within the last three years or after the Practical Completion stage in their development. The award is open to church buildings of all Christian denominations in the UK.

The award comprises a chalice and paten, commissioned by the Incorporated Church Building Society, and made after World War II. It was originally loaned to a new or seriously war damaged church.  The winning church receives a £500 prize.

Nominations open in May 2019.